2017 Lewes District Business Awards Launch

Lewes District Council is pleased to announce the return of the Lewes District Business Awards. The Awards are now open for business following a launch at AQUA Restaurant, Lewes on Tuesday 7 March.

Attendees had the chance to pick up this year’s brochure, meet previous winners and network with sponsors.

Recognising success, innovation and excellence in the business community, the Awards are free to enter and open to organisations of all sizes and sectors.  The Awards offer a fantastic opportunity for many different types of businesses to come together and celebrate the District’s business talent and achievement.

This year there are fourteen exciting categories to enter, including the highly coveted Company of the Year and Best Independent Retailer.

Four brand new categories have been introduced for 2017 are Culture, Leisure and Tourism – open to organisations that enrich the Lewes District and make it a great destination. Best Independent Food or Drink Producer – designed to highlight the growing number of microbreweries, vineyards and farmers that have a passion to grow, source and provide local produce. The Professional Services Award – recognising businesses in the private professional sector and The Creative Industries Award – open to business that produce cutting-edge creative media and/or technology that have made a big noise in the creative world and beyond..

The Awards will be presented by the BBC Television News presenter and correspondent, Ben Brown.

Businesses can enter up to three categories and deadline for submissions is 5 May 2017.

David Sheppard, Chairman of Sussex Chamber of Commerce, will be the new Chair of Judges. David joined the Board of Sussex Enterprise in January 2013 and became Chairman in April 2015.

This year’s sponsors include: Basepoint, Cheesmur Building Contractors, Knill James, LEAP, Lewes District Council, Lewes Town Hall, Brighton & Hove Buses, Richard Soan Roofing Services, Swindells, Veolia, UNIGLOBE, Wave Leisure, Yelo Architects, Platinum Business Magazine, Aces Magazine, and Viva Lewes.  With support from: The Argus, Gemini Print, Peacehaven Chamber of Commerce, Seaford Chamber of Commerce, Lewes Chamber of Commerce, Newhaven Chamber of Commerce and Lewes Town Hall.

The awards ceremony will take place on Thursday 13 July 2017 at the Lewes Town Hall.

Around 200 of the District’s leading businesspeople, sponsors and judges are expected to attend giving guests the perfect opportunity to network with peers, celebrate with colleagues and find out those all-important results.